top of page

The Nuns Of Navarone Part 2

In my last blog update I talked about the new OUTLANDS campaign that's happening at my local gaming club and that I wanted to start a new warband. I picked the Nuns With Guns by EMP Games as the new recruits to Paradise. I signed off the blog post with good intentions about actually painting the miniatures (unheard of in my gaming group). Well, I did it!!!!

Me and painting miniatures. A love/hate relationship. Sometimes I really enjoy it....most times I hate it. I'm not a good miniature painter...I was Ok(ish) once but I find the time and commitment to painting a good looking miniature is too much investment in of my time. Time is my biggest enemy...with my full-time job and working on new OUTLANDS material, my hobby time is usually a couple of hours on a Friday night....and then I might hit the pub instead. Anyways....

Two of the biggest things I hate about painting miniatures is 1) Painting Black 2) Painting White. So painting a group of battle ready Nuns already had problems. I'll explain how I overcame my hatred of painting black later...but for the mean time.

I started with 2 light coats of grey primer. I use grey primer as I can work darker colours down and lighter colours up.

Next I gave each miniature a light dry brushing of white. I'm not going to list the exact names of the paint...but they came from the worlds leading fantasy/sci-fi tabletop game manufacturer. When I was dry brushing, I tried to pick out the upper areas of the miniature rather than the lower one.

So, painting black!!!!!! I don't like painting black for a number of different reason....but mostly for picking out highlights later in the process. I don't like it and rarely have time to fineline. My preferred method is to apply a Black Wash. It can take a number of coats (help from a hair dryer)...but that way I can slowly build up to a darker colour while...thanks to the white dry brush still have some type of highlight.

1st coat.

2nd coat. I wasn't sure If I was happy with the results so far....so a 3rd coat was applied.

The 3rd coat was borderline 'too much'. The photo doesn't show it but the white highlights are just visible.

I picked out the flesh parts of the miniature next. Normally I would work from the inside out, starting with the inner garments and face to the outer garments. Because 'underpainting' can be a little unforgiving...it was a matter of working in reverse.

Next it was laying down the base for the white. I chose a boney type colour. Unlike 'underpainting' the black wash....you can't underpaint a 'white' wash.

Moving into the final sketch. Flesh wash was applied to the face and hands. After the wash was dry I quickly picked out a few highlight in the original flesh colour.

The last and most hatred part. painting white to the inner garment.

The following photos are just random pictures. You can see that I gave the weapons a bit of colour just to break up the dominate black/white colour scheme.

All six models took about 3 hours and I'm happy with the results. Just need to paint a couple of varnish coats (underpainting can rub/chip very easily) and the Nuns Of Navarone will get weapons and equipment....and possible some names.

Until next Outlanders.

JM


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page